top of page

Interview with Chris Stephens, former World No. 1 (Div 2) golfer


GWR: Hi Chris, what do you like about GWR and how does it feel to have a Golf World Ranking?

Chris Stephens: It feels great to have a world golf ranking. I love the fact that it gives you chance to pit yourself against players from all over the world.

GWR: As everybody want's to know these days, what’s in the bag? Tell us about your clubs and how you settled on them.

Chris Stephens: I play Titleist clubs. I use the 915 d2 driver with an Adilla rouge 60g s flex.

My 3 wood is also I 915F with the same make shaft but in 70g s flex.

I use two different irons I have a Titleist 716 T-MB 3 iron with the dynamic gold s300, I then go 4-pw in the Ap2 714's these have dynamic gold R300 which have been stepped so they play between a regular and stiff.

My wedges are a mix of Titleist/Cleveland in 50 and 58 degree I like playing with the loft so tend to manipulate my wedges to get the desired shot.

My putter is a Scotty Cameron Golo 5R.

Now for the most important ball I play the Vice golf Vice Pro. I had read some reviews on the ball and gave it a try and have never looked back.

GWR: Is there any new equipment you have your eye on? If yes, what is it and why are you thinking of buying it?

Chris Stephens: Not at the moment I'm happy with my setup and while I'm in the process of trying to get to single figures so don't want the hassle of having to get used to new gear.

GWR: What is your home course and what do you like best about it?

Chris Stephens: I currently play at The Shropshire golf centre in Muxton it's a public pay and play with membership system We have over 600 members across all brackets. We have 3 loops of 9 so there is always a great chance of being able to get a tee.

GWR: What was the lowest round you ever shot? What was the key to scoring that day?

Chris Stephens: My lowest round so far has been 77 gross off the yellows and 79 off the whites on both days my putting was the best it has ever been I just struggled to keep my driver in play.

GWR: If you have one magic bit of golf advice for our readers that you use, what would it be?

Chris Stephens: Golf is a game of how many not how.

Hit it hard go find it hit it hard again and never lay up!

GWR TAKEAWAY:

Some interesting observations. One seems to be play where you can get on the course regularly (practice makes perfect) but also find equipment that you enjoy using and don't be afraid to mix your set up with different shafts and heads if you feel that works for your game. We also noted a strong Titleist theme throughout.

Chris is a really great guy too and we recommend you check out his continually evolving Youtube Channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcm8W_u6mKmnFW1QzsZ9mfw He also has a blog: https://chrisstephensgolf.wordpress.com/

bottom of page